RoadSmart Official Provider

High Wycombe Group of Advanced Motorists

CHAIRMAN'S REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDING 31ST DECEMBER 2022

May I welcome you all to the 39th Annual General Meeting of the High Wycombe Group of Advanced Motorists which we shall be holding at Liston Hall in Marlow. This is my third report as Chairman and I can report that we have had a steady year but we have not yet returned to pre-covid levels of activity.

Firstly, I am extremely saddened to report that our President and great friend, Paddy Hopkirk, passed away in July. Paddy who had been our President since 2017, always gave his enthusiastic support as well as providing comfortable facilities for our committee and observer meetings.

Valerie Brickell has continued to provide excellent support as Committee Secretary and Membership Secretary as well as also supporting the Chief Observer. We are therefore looking for someone who is willing to take over as Committee Secretary from Valerie and further volunteers to maintain the committee as part of the IAM RoadSmart succession requirements. Andrew True is now stepping down as Group Chief Observer after eight years and handing over to Nigel Mason but is continuing on the committee. Andrew has worked hard and conscientiously coping with the changes and paperwork required by the IMI observer qualification requirements and has increased the number of local and national observers to sixteen. I can assure you that being on committee is not onerous or time-consuming and is not a "job for life"! If you would like to join the team, please contact Valerie as per the instructions shown on the Election of Officers form included in the AGM notice pack. The remaining committee members are Tim Nicholson (Treasurer), Sean Pearce (Website) and Bob Hill. I should like to thank all the committee for their hard work during the year.

For the year 2022 we had five National Observers. I am pleased to report that James Gledhill, Stuart Whiteman and V. Panchapakesan qualified as Local Observers bringing our total to eleven. Our plan is to train all our Local Observers to National Observer standard in accordance with the IAM's plans. I should like to thank all our observers for their efforts, willingness and readiness to observe and particularly Andrew True, Nigel Mason and Valerie Brickell for overseeing and completing the paperwork required for the observer qualifications. I should also like to give a special thank you to Peter Woolley who has decided to retire from observing after more than 20 years; his teaching skills, experience and calm attitude will be sorely missed.

Although we have lost some members for various reasons, we have gained a similar amount so we remain at 87. The number of joiners at 12 is the same as last year and applications have not yet returned to the pre-covid levels. However, it is pleasing that the number of passes increased from six to fifteen, of which an impressive five were graded as a F1RST.

I should like to thank and congratulate the associates and observers for their efforts and success. Associates undertaking the IAM RoadSmart Advance Driving Course at 31st December totalled 15 compared with 18 in the previous year.

Continued



High Wycombe Group of Advanced Motorists

The seventeenth edition of the Official Highway Code, which Andrew True publicised at last year's AGM, was finally published in April and we sent a copy to all our members, a gesture which seemed to be well received.

Our planned Ultimate Car Control Day which was originally arranged for 4th April 2020 finally took place on Saturday 15th October at Upper Heyford under the guidance of Robb Gravett, the 1990 British Saloon Car champion, and his team. Twenty one members and associates attended and after an introductory class participated in a number of drives on the airfield to improve particularly our emergency braking skills in what proved to be a very enjoyable day.

Following the official business of the AGM we shall be joined by Graham Feest who is a well-known Road Safety Consultant who has spent his career in road safety and is currently Chairman of the National Road Safety Committee as well as being involved with numerous road safety organisations.

Peter Gunn - Chairman